Qualification levels in Australia:

  • Year 10 school certificate
  • Year 12 – VCE (Victorian Certificate of Education) or VCAL (Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning) is a hands-on option for students in Years 11 and 12
  • Certificate I courses teach basic skills that can be used in simple jobs
  • Certificate II courses train participants for entry-level positions or apprenticeships, providing basic knowledge and helping you to develop an interest in a particular industry
  • Certificate III courses help you to develop skills, knowledge and problem-solving abilities
  • Certificate IV courses train you for supervisory and management positions – they’re suited for people who want to advance their careers or further develop their job skills
  • Diploma courses teach both general and specific skills in professional, technical or creative fields
  • Advanced Diploma courses teach high-level practical and professional skills in a range of technical, professional and creative fields
  • Graduate Certificate and Graduate Diploma skills expand on a student’s already high level of skills – these qualifications are equivalent to a university degree with Honours
  • Bachelor Degree and above (Masters and Doctoral – PhD) are usually offered by university and 4 years long course.

For more information:

TAFE and Training – Youth Central

Australian Qualifications Framework